About the Stata plugin

Hi all,

Love this initiative! I have some experience with Stata so I would like to offer my help in developing the API plugin.

As it looks the two straightforward entry points would be the JSON API (I read somewhere that it should be already active or soon to be), on the basis of the Stata libjson library and the insheetjson command by Erik Lindsley. Alternatively, it may be interesting to integrate the API with the existing command sdmxuse from Sébastien Fontenay, which already allows to import data from WB, IMF, OECD, Eurostat (and via tweaking other services sharing the same API specs, e.g. the Belgian National Bank).

The first solution may be more elegant as sdmxuse uses a lot of shell calls which tend to make import process rather “flashy”. Another important aspect to consider is whether to allow insecure requests: only the two latest versions of Stata (14 & 15) support the https protocol, but I reckon earlier versions are still widely used.

Keep up the good work, can’t wait to see all the new sources you are planning to include up and working.

Thanks,
Simone

1 Like

Hello Simone,

Love this initiative! I have some experience with Stata so I would like to offer my help in developing the API plugin.

Thank you very much for your interest in DB.nomics. Your message pleased our team!

I’m the author of the Python client for DB.nomics which you can find here: dbnomics / dbnomics-python-client · GitLab
As stated in the README, you can open it in a dynamically generated environment by opening this link.

I don’t know Stata at all and can’t give you any hint about which library to use.

You can look at the source code of dbnomics-python-client, this Python file in particular, and reproduce the main ideas.